Turmeric Fried Rice ( nasi goreng kunyit )

nasi goreng kunyit

This is one of special recipe of my mother. I miss so much the food of my mother. Well, not only the food of course, but niawhenever I get homesick I prepare special recipe of my mother. 

Originally, my mother add two fresh red chilli (sliced or ground). But because RV does not appreciate so much the chilli so I add paprika powder on my plate when the fried rice is ready.

 Here is the recipe:

  • 1 eggingredients
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2 candlenut (addition)*
  • 1 fresh red chilli (addition)*
  • 1 tea sp of turmeric powder (replaceable by curry powder)
  • 1 stem of green onion (sliced)
  • 1 carrot (cut into small cubicles)
  • 125 gr of rice (steamed)
  • 1 tea sp of salt
  • 1/2 tea sp of peppers
  • 1/4 cup of cooking oil

How to cook:fried ingredients

  • Ground the garlic, chilli and candlenut until smooth then mix with turmeric powder, salt and pepper.
  • Fried the grounded ingredients until golden, add carrot and cook for 2 minutes.
  • Add the eggs and scrumble until it well cook.
  • Add green onion and cook for 2 minutes.
  • Add steam rice and mix well. Cook for 5 more minutes and stir well.fried rice

* the candlenut and chilli are additional. You can skip them. It is not easy to find the candlenut here. I have to ‘import’ it from Indonesia😀

Served while hot and best served with fried calamari.

Serving for 2 people.

One response to “Turmeric Fried Rice ( nasi goreng kunyit )

  1. Wow very nice recipe. I must try for breakfast. Thank.

Leave a Reply

