Sweet Sour Gizzard ( empal ampela )

empal ampela

 Whenever I get homesick, I try to cook my favourite meal the way my mother prepare it. Sweet sour gizzard or empal niaampela is one of my favourite food and also a well known cooking from Java (one of the big islands in Indonesia). If you like sweet and sour taste I am sure you will enjoy it! I am so glad I can find gizzard easily. I thought they do not eat gizzard in France but actually French like also eating the innards. Nothing is wrong with that .. it is good for me. I love the innards😀

Here is the recipe!

Ingredients:ingredients

  • 1 table sp of tamarind
  • 1 tea sp of grated coriande
  • 1 tea sp of grated cummin
  • 1 tea sp of sugar
  • 1 tea sp of salt
  • 1/2 tea sp of grated pepper
  • 1/4 cup of cooking oil
  • 1 cup of water
  • 250 gr of gizzards

How to cook:gizzard

  • Cut the gizzards into small slices. Put in a cooking pan
  • Add all the ingredients. Cook until the water is dry and the gizzard fried well.

Easy, isn’t it?

Best served with Fried Rice while warm (for Fried Rice recipe, click here, you can omit the tuna)

Serving for 2 people.

3 responses to “Sweet Sour Gizzard ( empal ampela )

  1. the test of tamarin was marvelous and in France we never used often time , this one was mixed with the coriande , together they gave special flavor , sweet and sour .
    The gizzard was not so smooth for me, it’s a little bit like my slip sandal …😀

  2. aha, this recipe give me an idea how to cook this ’empal’ on different way. my husband like empal very much but i usually only boil till dried & deep fried it (not healty huh?!🙂, well let’s whether he’ll like it or not…

  3. Pingback: why babies suck « blindly stumble forward

Leave a Reply

