Cap Cay (Chinese Chicken casserole)

cap cay

NiaCap Cay is originally chinese cuisine, but we eat a lot of it in Indonesia. Basically it is vegetable casterole, but you can add chicken or sea food (shrimp or squib). My mother prepares the best cap cay and this is how she cooks cap cay. I miss her cooking :-(.

Here is my mother recipe (I hope I remember well :D)

Ingredients:

  • 2 garlics (choped)
  • 1 onion (choped)
  • 1/2 tes sp of pepper
  • 1 chicken broth
  • 2 chicken fillets (sliced into cubicles)
  • 1 table sp of soya souce
  • 1 tea sp of salt
  • 3 layers of toffu skin
  • 1 brokoli (small)
  • 1 carrot (sliced thin)
  • 1 tomato (sliced thin)
  • 1 leek (sliced)
  • 1/4 of both red and green paprika
  • 1/4 cup of cooking oil
  • 1 table spoon of sesame oil
  • 1 cup of water

How to cook:

  • Steam brokoli and carrot for 15 minutescap cay
  • Leave toffu skin in hot water for 10 minutes
  • Fried onion until it looks golden with cooking oil and sesame oil. Add garlic and chicken, when the chicken is half cook, add soya souce, papper, salt, tomato, stired until they are well cooked.
  • Add some water, toffu skin, chicken broth, and all the vegetable.
  • Cook in a closed wok until the water reduce (stirred once in a while)

Served best with steam rice (for 2 people)

Oh I feel like in Indonesia when having Cap Cay for our dinner. 

11 responses to “Cap Cay (Chinese Chicken casserole)

  1. very tasty! i just tried it for dinner. i added sugar tho, coz i like it a bit sweet :D and used pork instead of chicken, coz i only have pork at the moment :D still very very tasty! will definitely cook again in time to come!

  2. Hai! I also like my Mom’s Capcay recipe. Btw I can learn
    English from you because I can’t write recipe in good English.
    Thank you so much.

  3. Thanks for sharing this recipe.I am Iranian but I live in Indonesia. I use both oyster sauce,soy sauce and indonesian sweet soy sauce.The taste was not good. Now I got the point. I should not use too much sauce.

  4. thank you very much, because already helped me complete my task very easily ….

  5. thanks for the informattion

  6. joyce

    What is the purpose of the tofu skins? Can it be eliminated without ruining the recipe?

    • Hi Joyce,
      Yes you can eliminate the tofu Skin from the recipe. It has a special flavour but Will not ruin the recipe.

      Good luck and hope you like the Cap Cay :-)

  7. Susan Daugherty

    Thank you for the interesting recipe. I am glad the tofu skins can be eliminated. First, I don’t know what it is. Second, it doesn’t look the least bit appetizing. I will try the recipe without it first. Then if I feel something must be missing I may try to find the skins and use them in it.

Leave a Reply

